Pennyshaker rocks Wabi-Sabi in Petersburg

During a recent night out in historic Old Towne Petersburg, Virginia–20 minutes south of Richmond on I-95–I had dinner at Andrade’s.  Later, I wandered over to the Wabi-Sabi where I heard a local band was playing.   They are the self-proclaimed “hot-spot of Old Towne…” and I agree with their assessment.

As I approached the spot, along the storefronts of Bollingbrook Street, I could see a few happy patrons leaving.  A few other were entering.  I took a few pics along the way.

Ticia Carter lead singer

Pennyshaker performs at Wabi-Sabi

Wabi-Sabi serves sushi and other food.  I don’t eat sushi, however, I know a few sushi eaters who swear by the exceptional fare served at Wabi-Sabi.  I’ll take them at their word.

The Richmond-based band Pennyshaker was playing in the basement.  Their lead singer, Ticia Carter, belted out notes that were a cross between Jill ScottMaiyshaJocelyn Brown.  I’m not  a music critic but the goosebumps on my arm confirmed that this woman could sang (sic)!   A multi-cultural, adult crowd tapped feet and bobbed heads throughout the evening’s performance.  Sometimes singing along; always applauding.  Pennyshaker’s last set included soul stirring renditions of “Kiss” by Prince and “Roses” (Caroline) by OutKast.  Folks flooded the dance floor and begged for an encore.  Good times, good times.  Oh, I almost forgot to mention the drummer–dude is true showman.

Pennyshaker moves the crowd

Pennyshaker moves the crowd

I plan on editing and posting my own video later.  For now see clips of Pennyshaker here and here.  Check them out again at Wabi-Sabi on July 30,2010.

I guess Ticia Carter is doing double-duty with an American Reggae band.  Congrats!

One Response to Pennyshaker rocks Wabi-Sabi in Petersburg

  1. Naj says:

    Welcome back MBC, III. Thanks for the July 30th tip – may check them out. Peace, Naj.

Leave a Reply

