10 things I can’t do from my desk

Not much changed since the last post. From my work desk in Iraq, I’m still restricted from engaging audiences on social media sites. Despite yet another article indicating that Social Media engagement is a priority for the Army.

Here’s a list of things I can’t do from my work desk that the DOD wants me to do–though not from my desk, I suppose:

1.) Download the Army’s official design templates for Web sites and Social Media

2.) Listen to the DOD Bloggers’ Roundtable–by the way you should listen to the BRT on August 4, 11:00 a.m. EST for an update on the Advisory and Assistance Brigade mission COMPLETE

3.) Post on my brigade’s blog

4.) Post tweets on my brigade’s Twitter feed @4_1AD

5.) Interact with the over 2,300 Fans who support the 4th Brigade, 1st Armored Division on Facebook

6.) Visit any of the Social Media sites run by my higher headquarters MNC-I, CENTCOM

Our goal at Multinational Corps-Iraq is to maximize our use of Social Media to inform you about our missions and the people who accomplish them. We’re striving to create a dialogue with you. We will do that by sharing news, information, insights and conversation with the people who support our organization and operations in Iraq. –MNC-I

7.) Conduct spot media assessment on a number of different Web sites. Cookies, schmookies

8.) Read any blogs that are not on a .mil domain

9.) Share videos, photos, and audio products with others because access to USB ports is blocked…I wonder how civilian news agencies operate? Do they require reporters to use personal equipment and run down to the local coffee shop to access the internet to file stories?

10.) Upload videos produced by Army broadcasters to DVIDS via FTP–blocked

As a Soldier we improvise and adapt where possible. However, all the 100mph tape and 550 cord can’t help me access Social Media.

*venting complete*

Oh, if I’ve missed your phone call at my desk, it’s because I’m at the MWR internet center down the street writing this blog post. Sorry.

Update: Looks like the debate over Web 2.0 access is at the highest levels of the DoD. The Pentagon’s top public affairs executive is an active participant and proponent for Social Networking.

2 Responses to 10 things I can’t do from my desk

  1. Joe Boutte says:

    Hang in there. Agencies are working on ways to bring social media capabilities within government firewalls. The education and training to raise everyone’s awareness of the cyber threats will also mitigate the “cognitive dissonance” going on in policy circles. Balance between POTUS guidance for transparency and the military’s need for force protection, network security, OPSEC, etc. This won’t be easy, but knee-jerk reactions won’t be the solution. Social media is a force multiplier and proper risk mitigation approaches must be considered and applied to leverage the technologies to enhance the mission.

    Thanks for your service!!!

  2. Naj says:

    Hey MBC III, did you hear that the Marines can’t do social media at all? I think the Pentagon made a decsion or something. Anyway, keep fighting the good fight (literally and figuratively speaking). Hope all is going well. When do you get to come home for a break, and then for good? Take care, Naj

Leave a Reply

