WE THE MEDIA: Citizen Journalist photographs black squirrel in Georgetown

Black squirrel checks out the bike rack at the Georgetown library.We the Media by Dan Gillmore discusses how citizen journalist and bloggers are reducing the stranglehold corporate media has on how information is distributed in America.

Frugal people like me keep their cell phones far past the devices life-expectancy.  Then one day they just don’t work anymore.  Next we’re forced, by necessity, to upgrade to a new version–with new bells & whistles.  Frequently the new phone incorporates a camera and the ability to access the Internet.

One evening during the fall semester, I saw a black squirrel while walking to class.  I was near the intersection of 33rd and Prospect.  The squirrel darted out from behind a fence and stared at me.  Just as I unsheathed my Palm Centro phone, the camera-shy creature ran back behind the fence.

I told my story to a few classmates who’d never seen a black squirrel.  My tale of the black bushy-tailed rodent fell on deaf ears.  But, today, with this blog post, I’m vindicated.  Why?  Because, I’m a citizen journalist!  I also find it a bit odd that corporate media hasn’t reported on these creatures in over three years…hmmm…  He’s my first report…

(Washington, DC)  In a city normally known for it’s cuddly Panda bears at the national zoo, Georgetown residents have a rare creature of their own.  A common rodent with uncommon coloring:  the black squirrel.

While walking to the Georgetown University library, Majorman, a graduate student, spied the swarthy acorn eater near a bike rack.  Acting swiftly he approached the elusive beast and snapped a photo.

When asked for comment, Majorman says, “This was one of the most interesting sightings of my life.  It ranks right up there with the checkered patterned Praying Mantis I caught in Iraq.”  He added, “Unlike the Mantis capture, this time I had my camera.”

If you’ve seen any strange animals in your neighborhood or are a citizen journalist, please leave a comment.

6 Responses to WE THE MEDIA: Citizen Journalist photographs black squirrel in Georgetown

  1. Najmah says:

    I’ve seen some strange animals in my neighborhood MBC III, but I don’t think we are talking about the same thing…

    How’s the apt. hunt going? Naj

  2. ateedub says:

    Congratulations citizen journalist! I think columnists from the WSJ should take note!

    The rare black squirrel happens to be a favorite prey of my puppy. Luckily, he never catches any. There are, however, at least three that live near my (and Obama’s) house.

  3. everyonelovesavegangirl says:

    I actually never saw a black squirrel in real life, but the other day, I saw one on TV…I thought about this article:)

  4. Patty says:

    The only place I have ever seen a black squirrel was in Montabello, Quebec, Canada. That’s all they had there were black squirrels and LOTS of them!! Cool, picture, Major Man and I like your blog!!

  5. […] the most interesting, especially to me as a Social Media student is a blog posting where citizen journalists cover a riot–organized by SMS text messages–in […]

  6. Tatyana says:

    On the rare-squirrel sighting sharing: I spotted a white (albino) squirrel near Keneddy Center in DC two years ago. It was amazing and fun – we watched the little brisk animal skip around a tree across the street from us, but I was not camera-ready unfortunately. This happened one month after I moved to live in the USA from Bulgaria and took the white squirrel a good sign for my new beginning :-) I think I have seen a black squirrel a couple of times – perhaps it was the same one you photographed.

Leave a Reply

